This page is part of: Omega-3
Short answer
The best food source of EPA and DHA is oily fish: in the NIH/USDA table, 3 ounces (about 85 g) of cooked farmed salmon provides 1.24 g DHA and 0.59 g EPA, and Atlantic herring 0.94 g DHA and 0.77 g EPA. The Ministry of Health report lists anchovy, young bluefish (çinekop), sardine, bluefish and Atlantic bonito as fish rich in omega-3 in Türkiye. Walnuts, flaxseed and chia contain ALA; the conversion of ALA to EPA and DHA is very limited. [1] [5]
Which foods contain omega-3?
There are two separate groups. ALA (plant-based omega-3) is found in flaxseed, soybean and canola oil, chia seeds and walnuts. EPA and DHA are found in fish, fish oil and krill oil; oily cold-water fish (salmon, mackerel, tuna, herring, sardines) contain high amounts, while low-fat fish such as bass, tilapia and cod, and shellfish, contain low amounts. The amount of omega-3 in fish also depends on what the fish eats; farmed fish generally contain more EPA and DHA than wild fish, but this varies with the feed. NIH reports that in farmed Atlantic salmon in Scotland, EPA and DHA content fell significantly between 2006 and 2015 as feed composition changed. [1]
In the USA, DHA is added to some eggs, yogurt, juice, milk and soy beverages. [1] Beef is very low in omega-3; ALA is somewhat higher in grass-fed beef. [1]
NIH/USDA serving table: fish and seafood
The values below are US servings compiled by NIH from USDA data (3 ounces ≈ 85 g, cooked). The table uses US species names; rows such as “Atlantic mackerel” may not correspond exactly to species names sold in Türkiye. The total column is the sum of DHA and EPA.
| Food (US serving) | DHA (g) | EPA (g) | EPA+DHA total (g) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, 3 ounces | 1.24 | 0.59 | 1.83 |
| Salmon, Atlantic, wild, cooked, 3 ounces | 1.22 | 0.35 | 1.57 |
| Herring, Atlantic, cooked, 3 ounces | 0.94 | 0.77 | 1.71 |
| Sardines, canned in tomato sauce, drained, 3 ounces | 0.74 | 0.45 | 1.19 |
| Mackerel, Atlantic, cooked, 3 ounces | 0.59 | 0.43 | 1.02 |
| Salmon, pink, canned, drained, 3 ounces | 0.63 | 0.28 | 0.91 |
| Trout, rainbow, wild, cooked, 3 ounces | 0.44 | 0.40 | 0.84 |
| Oysters, eastern, wild, cooked, 3 ounces | 0.23 | 0.30 | 0.53 |
| Shrimp, cooked, 3 ounces | 0.12 | 0.12 | 0.24 |
| Tuna, light, canned in water, drained, 3 ounces | 0.17 | 0.02 | 0.19 |
| Cod, Pacific, cooked, 3 ounces | 0.10 | 0.04 | 0.14 |
Source: NIH ODS table (USDA FoodData Central data). [1] NIH notes that the USDA database does not specify whether most fish are farmed or wild. For reference: EFSA sets the adequate intake of EPA+DHA for adults at 250 mg (0.25 g) per day; this is far below the total in one serving of salmon listed in the table, but the value is set as a daily target, not as a limit per serving. [6]
Anchovy, bonito, bluefish: values for fish of Türkiye
In a review reporting data from the National Food Composition Database (TürKomp, 2014), EPA and DHA for a 150 g fish serving (the serving of the Türkiye-Specific Dietary Guidelines) are as follows. The table does not state the cooking status; canned products are labeled separately.
| Fish (150 g) | Fat (g) | EPA (g) | DHA (g) | EPA+DHA total (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anchovy (hamsi) | 21.54 | 2.574 | 3.214 | 5.788 |
| Bonito (palamut) | 22.60 | 1.525 | 3.832 | 5.357 |
| Bluefish (lüfer) | 24.16 | 1.064 | 2.507 | 3.571 |
| Horse mackerel (istavrit) | 13.61 | 0.780 | 1.829 | 2.609 |
| Garfish (zargana) | 7.39 | 0.334 | 1.474 | 1.808 |
| Red mullet (barbun) | 13.30 | 0.744 | 0.658 | 1.402 |
| Sea bass (levrek, farmed) | 8.33 | 0.375 | 0.714 | 1.089 |
| Trout, rainbow (farmed) | 7.69 | 0.209 | 0.724 | 0.933 |
| Sea bream (çipura, farmed) | 8.97 | 0.327 | 0.370 | 0.697 |
| Whiting (mezgit) | 1.46 | 0.062 | 0.211 | 0.273 |
| Sardines, canned (sunflower oil) | 15.33 | 0.379 | 0.886 | 1.265 |
| Anchovy, canned (in sunflower oil) | 14.61 | 0.092 | 0.170 | 0.262 |
| Tuna, canned (sunflower oil) | 15.03 | 0.034 | 0.070 | 0.104 |
The values are reported from TürKomp. [2] Three points should be noted. First, EPA and DHA in the canned rows of the table are much lower than the values for the same fish given as separate rows in the table (anchovy: 5.788 g and 0.262 g). Second, these values were not obtained with the same method and the same serving (150 g versus 85 g) as those in the NIH/USDA table, so they cannot be compared directly; the species, season, fishing area and fat content of the fish change the content. Third, the table is taken from a secondary review. The Ministry of Health report also lists anchovy, young bluefish (çinekop), sardine, bluefish and Atlantic bonito as species rich in omega-3 in Türkiye, and salmon and herring among species of foreign origin. [5]
Walnuts, flaxseed and chia: plant-based omega-3 (ALA)
| Food (US serving) | ALA (g) |
|---|---|
| Flaxseed oil, 1 tablespoon | 7.26 |
| Chia seeds, 1 ounce (about 28 g) | 5.06 |
| English walnuts (common walnuts), 1 ounce | 2.57 |
| Flaxseed, whole, 1 tablespoon | 2.35 |
| Canola oil, 1 tablespoon | 1.28 |
| Soybean oil, 1 tablespoon | 0.92 |
| Black walnuts, 1 ounce | 0.76 |
| Edamame, frozen, prepared, ½ cup (US cup ≈ 240 mL) | 0.28 |
Source: NIH ODS table. [1] According to NIH, ALA can be converted in the body to EPA and then to DHA, but the conversion is very limited and reported rates are below 15%; the practical way to raise EPA and DHA levels is therefore to obtain them directly. [1] The review by Brenna et al. likewise reports that in healthy adults ALA supplementation raises blood EPA and DPA levels but has little effect on DHA, and that blood DHA level can be raised with preformed DHA. [7]
ALA itself is an essential fatty acid: NIH and EFSA set separate adequate intake values (NIH 1.6 g for adult men and 1.1 g for women; EFSA 0.5% of energy). According to 2011–2012 NHANES data, NIH states that most children and adults in the USA get the recommended amounts of ALA; this is US data. [1] [6]
How many servings of fish per week? What do institutions say?
| Institution | Recommendation | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| AHA (2018 science advisory) | 1–2 seafood meals per week; to reduce the risk of heart failure, coronary heart disease, ischemic stroke and sudden cardiac death, especially when seafood replaces less healthy foods [4] | General adults |
| Republic of Türkiye Ministry of Health UBK report (2022) | 180–360 g (1 or 2 servings) of oily fish per week (such as salmon, trout, catfish); canned tuna less than 180 g per week [5] | Adults |
| TÖBR 2015 (Türkiye-Specific Dietary Guidelines; as reported in the review by Öksüz et al.) | Because of the high omega-3 content of fish, at least 2–3 times per week, in 150 g servings; grilled, baked or steamed [2] | General population |
| FDA/EPA (2021) | In pregnancy and lactation (1 serving = 4 ounces), 2–3 servings per week from the “Best choices” list or 1 serving from “Good choices”; for children aged 1–11, 2 servings per week from “Best choices” [3] | Pregnant, breastfeeding, children (mercury-focused) |
| EFSA (2010) | EPA+DHA 250 mg/day in adults (adequate intake); for children aged 2–18 no numerical value was set, with advice to be consistent with that for adults: 1–2 oily fish meals per week or about 250 mg EPA+DHA per day [6] | Adults and children |
The numbers belong to different purposes and populations (cardiovascular risk, mercury in pregnancy, general nutrition); one does not refute another, but they cannot be reduced to a single number. The FDA/EPA advice supports the Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommendation of at least 8 ounces of seafood per week (for a 2,000-calorie diet) and 8–12 ounces in pregnancy. [3]
Mercury in fish: which fish are lower?
The 2021 FDA and EPA advice classifies more than 60 fish and shellfish as “Best choices,” “Good choices” and “Choices to avoid” according to mercury level. Fish that FDA/EPA and the Dietary Guidelines for Americans list as “best choices” for children include anchovy, Atlantic mackerel, salmon, sardines, trout, shrimp, squid, oysters and tilapia. Those to avoid include king mackerel, shark, swordfish, marlin, orange roughy, bigeye tuna and Gulf of Mexico tilefish; in the list, Atlantic mackerel and king mackerel are separate rows. [3]
According to NIH, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend avoiding king mackerel, shark, swordfish and tilefish in pregnancy and lactation and limiting albacore (white) tuna to 6 ounces per week; there are also studies showing that the benefits of moderate seafood consumption in pregnancy outweigh the risks. These results are based on observational data and a systematic review. [1] The Ministry of Health report also states that some fish may contain excessive mercury and that canned tuna should be consumed at less than 180 g per week. [5]
How much fish is consumed in Türkiye?
The review by Öksüz et al., based on TÜİK (2016) data, reports that annual per-capita fish consumption was 8.0 kg in 2000 and 6.1 kg in 2015; the same review says that this amount is far below the world average (the world average was about 20 kg in 2016). This data is from 2015; it does not replace a current national measurement. [2]
Detailed guideOmega-3 deficiency symptoms: is there really a deficiency? Detailed guideFish oil: forms, krill, algal oil and label reading Detailed guideWhat is omega-3? EPA, DHA, ALA, evidence and safetyThis guide does not recommend personal nutrition or doses; in people with a medical condition, pregnancy or a special diet, the amount and type of fish are determined with a physician or dietitian.
Frequently asked questions
Which foods contain the most omega-3?
EPA and DHA are found most in oily fish such as salmon, herring, sardines and mackerel; in the NIH/USDA table, three ounces (about 85 g) of cooked farmed salmon provides 1.24 g DHA and 0.59 g EPA. ALA, the plant-based omega-3, is found in flaxseed, chia, walnuts and canola or soybean oil.
Is anchovy rich in omega-3?
The Ministry of Health report counts anchovy among the fish consumed in Türkiye that are rich in omega-3. A review reporting TürKomp data gives 2.574 g EPA and 3.214 g DHA for 150 g of anchovy; in canned anchovy (in sunflower oil) these values are 0.092 and 0.170 g.
How many servings of fish should be eaten per week?
Institutions give different numbers: the AHA recommends 1–2 seafood meals per week, the Ministry of Health UBK report 180–360 g of oily fish, and FDA/EPA 2–3 servings in pregnancy and lactation (from fish low in mercury).
Do walnuts and flaxseed replace fish oil?
These foods contain ALA, not EPA and DHA. According to NIH, conversion of ALA to EPA and DHA is very limited; ALA supplementation does not improve blood DHA levels, whereas preformed DHA does (Brenna 2009).
Is there a mercury risk in fish?
Methylmercury in fish varies by species. FDA/EPA places species such as king mackerel, shark and swordfish on the list to avoid; anchovy, sardines, salmon, trout and Atlantic mackerel are in FDA/EPA's “best choices” group with the lowest mercury.
Sources
- Guideline / review NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Health Professional Fact Sheet (Tablo 2: ALA, EPA ve DHA içeriği) (2025)Back to text ↑
- Guideline / review Öksüz et al. — Yaşam boyu sağlıklı ve dengeli beslenme için balık tüketiminin önemi (Food and Health; TürKomp 2014 ve TÜİK 2016 verilerini aktaran derleme) (2018)Back to text ↑
- Institution FDA ve EPA — Advice About Eating Fish (Ekim 2021) (2021)Back to text ↑
- Guideline / review Seafood Long-Chain n-3 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids and Cardiovascular Disease: A Science Advisory From the American Heart Association. (2018)Back to text ↑
- Institution T.C. Sağlık Bakanlığı Halk Sağlığı Genel Müdürlüğü — Ulusal Beslenme Konseyi Yağ Bilim Komisyonu Raporu (Yayın No: 1225) (2022)Back to text ↑
- Institution EFSA NDA Panel — Scientific Opinion on Dietary Reference Values for fats, including saturated fatty acids, polyunsaturated fatty acids, monounsaturated fatty acids, trans fatty acids, and cholesterol (2010)Back to text ↑
- Guideline / review alpha-Linolenic acid supplementation and conversion to n-3 long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids in humans. (2009)Back to text ↑
Method: Institutional clinical guidance and relevant studies were compared. Each finding is presented with its population, outcome, sources and limitations. Independent medical review has not yet been completed.
Updated
This content is for information only and is not medical advice. It does not recommend doses, products or vendors. Talk to your clinician before making any health decision.
